Silence of the Night

I’m not sleeping tonight.

The air is humid, a heavy
reminder of the summer upon us.
The fan on the desk makes noise
but produces little cooling effects.

2am, the numbers glow.
No-one else is awake and it’s
just a tad lonely.
Music will help.

The dark room rejects music though.
Even on the lowest setting it’s loud and
out-of-place.
The music doesn’t help.

Almost inaudibly the computer hums.
Right now the room feels very small,
and for a moment I strain my eyes to see.
It’s too dark.

I’m aware, my nerves calm and steady.
Listening closely, carefully enough, I swear
I can hear my heartbeat.
No other sound is within these four walls.

The cars on the road are quiet too.
They pass by, sporadic, and I
make up tales about the 2am drivers.
This is silent amusement.

It’s timeless and I could be anyone.
A siren passes, rents the air and
the spell is broken.
Moments later the quiet is restored.

written in response to the Weekly Writing Challenge: http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/17/the-sound-of-silence/

13 thoughts on “Silence of the Night”

Leave a comment