Refusal to Clone

Well, the prompt wants me to clone something from somewhere else and bring it to my hometown.

I refuse. Here’s a thing my English lecturer once said: that influence is immoral, because then the influencee is never truly forming their own sense of self. Granted it was in relation to a novel but the principle I think remains the same. My hometown – pardon me, city, is good. I like it. Admittedly I don’t know a great deal about the place, I have my corners and suburbs to which I cling, but I don’t want to drag in other elements.

I’d rather see the city progress on its own, non-cloning terms. If I were to clone a building and bring it here, then how might you differentiate between my home and RandomTown NZ*? 

Uniqueness is best. Also, I have a terror of doubles and doppelgangers, and it would be sad if two towns were the doppelgangers of each other. I have a doppelganger, and I know a person who has a doppelganger. It’s not as fun as one might think.

*to the best of my knowledge there is no city, suburb or town in New Zealand called RandomTown.

8 thoughts on “Refusal to Clone”

  1. Initially, I had the same reaction as you. I was a little offended, even. I do not want anything in my little corner of the world that reminds me of other places, I’m here because i like it the way it is.
    Now that I’ve let it all out, ( and by the way, thank you for listening) I might think of something different in a purely fictional way.

    Like

    1. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Yes… I fear being alike with dozens of others, and would hate to see the things that make my hometown special replaced with copies.

      My pleasure, and I look forward to reading what you come up with 🙂

      Like

  2. 😀 I remember that debatable debate in college. The first person’s viewpoint influences everyone who follows. I agree and disagree with the philosophy, but not the point you made about keeping everything in its proper place. It didn’t occur to me to move monuments, buildings, or sculptures because that would defeat the purpose of travel! Great post, and thanks for letting me in on your world

    Like

    1. Thank you.

      Yes – people travel sometimes to see new things, don’t they. I don’t know about things having a proper place, but I do disagree that clones of buildings or something should be made.

      Thanks again 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment