No Band-Aids Here

I like criticism.

And I try not to be some delicate princess about it. It’s rare that you will always impress everyone – “You can please some of the people all of the time, and you can please all of the people some of the time, but you cannot please all of the people all of the time.”, isn’t that how the line goes? – and so I try to be gracious about criticism. I accepted years ago that I won’t be constantly praised, and was happier for not expecting it.

I’m awesome philosophical like that.

My biggest criteria however, is that the criticism be polite. That, and proper spelling and grammar. Those are vital. If someone has taken it upon themselves to give me feedback, and it’s poorly spelled I cannot and probably will not take it seriously. Likewise if they are rude (which luckily has virtually never happened) I will brush them off and go on my merry way.

Besides, half the time the general idea is to help you improve, is it not? I came to blogging partly in the hopes that people would criticize my writing, and luckily those who have are quite lovely about it. If I didn’t want feedback, I wouldn’t blog. I’d keep my writings scribbled in an old notebook or some forgotten Desktop file and sludge on.

And to answer the original question I prefer straight-up advice and feedback. No sense in dancing around what you want to say.

9 thoughts on “No Band-Aids Here”

  1. What really irks me is when people ask for honest feedback and then get offended when I give them, well, honest feedback. It’s like they expect their work is too amazing for any criticism whatsoever, which is ridiculous.

    Like

Leave a comment