Procrastinators Unite

Today’s Blogging 101 Assignment: Write a post that builds on a comment you left yesterday.

“To an extent, I see procrastination as a stimulant”, as written on The Metamorphosis of a Wallflower.

And I was drawn in – partially because this is a post about procrastination and partially because the title of the blog includes metamorphosis, one of my favourite words.

I commented with my own little procrastination anecdote: in my case it’s something like doing laundry, since I’m not in study anymore. I postpone chores sometimes, because they just don’t seem pressing enough or I have something else to do. One memorable time I procrastinated a book: not in the regard of “I’ll finish it later”, but the kind where “I’ll just finish this one chapter”. Many chapters and unmeasurable time later I was finished.

Oops.

That was accidental procrastination, which I find takes a special kind of energy. (What can I say, it was a good book)

It’s also a challenge, or a kick into action. How much can I get done now? Having a shortened time in which to do something does magic on me, gets my brain firing and my fingers flying to write or knit or do the dishes. Well, you know, that might be the caffeine talking.

Or, when I put off laundry for a few days, then I see how much more enjoyment I derive from doing the work. I like doing laundry; I find it immensely satisfying to pile up stuff in the machine. It’s a lazy-efficient task, my favourite kind.

And yet I can also be a planner: one who creates whole schemes for publishing a book that’s yet to be written and sketches out online following places for a business that has yet to be started.

Actually, I’ll sort that out tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “Procrastinators Unite”

  1. I am such the opposite but grew up with a bunch of procrastinators. I feel such a sense of relief checking things off my to-do list. The faster I get my list of things completed they sooner I can rest and take a nap 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

