Word Crush Monday: Pearl-McPhee

Okay, it’s Monday, and I know it’s supposed to be an Off-the-Hook day, but I spent a lot of time actually doing the knitting and far less time doing the photos. I did finish a scarf, almost, I just need to bind off.

Just so we’re clear, I started on Friday night, ran out of yarn on Saturday and acquired more (had to really search the woeful selection at the local place), worked on-off yesterday, and wound up my last row pre-bind tonight. This, apparently, is the magic of loom knitting. On regular needles, I have one that has been on the go for months. 

To add insult to injury, I bought a giant skein on Saturday to finish the scarf – the skein is something like 300 metres, and I have barely dented it. Also, I have now used this particular one to make a scarf, a hat, and a pair of long mittens, and I am worried that I will get two-thirds of the way through another thing and then not have enough.

My desk has a box on it with knit things I have completed, and it’s already overflowing.

By the way, are you supposed to block a scarf when done, and if so, how do you do it?

In honour of the yarn sitting one metre from my left elbow, here is the new quote of the week. Bit of a change from philosophical Deep Thoughts About Life, but I suppose you can’t always have everything.

“SABLE: A common knitting acronym that stands for Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy.”

Leave a Reply

