Word Crush Monday: Van Gogh

I haven’t read anything in the last few days that has really inspired me to review it. This evening I dragged my heels through two short cozies, one of which was dull and I only finished it because I don’t like abandoning a book. Essentially, it introduced a new character at the beginning of every chapter. I stopped caring about the characters when the fourth new one was introduced.

Clearly, I’m going to have to write the mysteries I would like to read.

(If you’re wondering, the other one I read this evening was tedious and somewhat lifeless; not good considering the nature of a cozy mystery)

Anyway. Quote for the week is from Van Gogh.

I often think that the night is more alive and more richly coloured than the day.

2 thoughts on “Word Crush Monday: Van Gogh

  1. I have that same thing, I hate abandoning a book even if it’s sucking the sheer life out of me. And because my concentration is so poor, I totally agree with the ‘intro of characters to a new chapter’ thing – if it’s done right and well written then bravo, but you sorta just lose interest real quick otherwise!!

    Like

    1. Yes, for sure. Thing was, this book started each chapter from the viewpoint of some new character. I found it difficult to connect with any of them, and then just couldn’t care when they plodded through the mystery – I just wanted them to reveal the rest of the mystery so it was over.

      I think the problem is that the book was too short to properly weave in the characters and explore them properly – so there was a cast of cardboard cutouts being dragged up for suspicion before being discarded. It’s a real shame, the premise was good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

