The One Where Words Burn Out

I have a new theory that makes no sense because that’s the sort of mischief I do. Nowadays, I’m beginning to think there’s some kind of secret writerly word-allowance: you can only write so many words before you begin to burn out.

And applying this theory to myself, I rather think I’ve just about run out of words. I haven’t been able to start a new story in weeks and the side-project I’ve got going is trailing along like a sad lonely wraith. I don’t know, maybe it’s the after-effect of hammering out NaNoWriMo like I did.

The secret things have slowed right down too. I’m starting to wonder if I should take a hiatus off writing, though that runs against every inch of my personality – the one that’s almost unflinchingly persistent. Someone did suggest that and my immediate thought was no why do that, that sounds horrible.

Even as I write I’m thinking have I written this before. I’m thinking does this sound familiar.

Maybe I need to just hammer something out like with NaNoWriMo; some kind of Rapid Storywriting Thing. What do you think?

2 thoughts on “The One Where Words Burn Out

  1. Maybe a short break and change of scenery is in order. Sometimes a nice breath of fresh air, a new experience, or chance encounter with a stranger can spark new creativity. It’s in there, you just have to feed it (I’m repeating this to myself as I write this). Best of luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

