Introducing NaNoWriMo 2016

Dear lord I was typing in the title and wrote 2018. I like to be organized and it’s true I have approximately four* years worth of NaNoWriMo and other writing projects lined up, that’s pushing it.

Without much further ado, I would like to take today to introduce to you this year’s NaNoWriMo. So far, it is unplanned. Either tonight or tomorrow, I will scribble out an outline on a bit of A4.

This is going to be my second cozy mystery. I wrote the first one last year – and promptly left it to gather cyberdust – so I’ve decided this is going to be a key tool in motivating myself to get things done. You see, this one is going to be the second in the series.

Right. I went there, and I’m telling you so that I have written proof. As motivation.

So basically the second story will naturally build upon the first, and I’m also considering a short prequel novella. So that’s something to look forward to.

I’m also toying with my perspective – I’m 98% sure that I wrote in third-person last year, but I like writing first-person. Only problem is if I do first-person I lose a few scenes I like… does that count as killing your darlings, Stephen King? Of course, I could rewrite them as a bait-and-switch… yes, OK. I’ll do that. That’s sorted.

Best part: Aiming to break the amount of time it took me last year. Also, writing a proper fricken ending.

Worst part: Deciding definitively on character names and not writing one person with a different name for 30,000 words.

*lies.

Leave a Reply

