Over Coffee (17)

If we were having coffee, it’d be a quiet hour over coffee and idly watching the weather. I’ve sort of run out of things to talk about, since I have a pile of secret things to not discuss until they’re more solid. There’s not much new to report on the work front, and the other work front isn’t really an interesting topic right now, though  I’m making plans. Gearing up for NaNoWriMo and some prep work  plus another two projects.

All systems are go.

The weather’s been horrible today, not what you would expect from early spring, but at least the garden is getting well-hydrated. I’m sure I’m going to get sick again, mooching around in bad weather like I have been.

This cafe is nice. New, I think. I haven’t been here before, but they do good coffee at a reasonable price. I’m ordering cake because it’s the weekend, what will you have?

How was  your week?

4 thoughts on “Over Coffee (17)

  1. I don’t know if you saw, but I’m doing NaNoWriMo as well this year! Getting really psyched for it. Trying to build my daily word count–so far I can do about 900 words in one hour. Any tips, tricks for me? 😀

    Like

    1. I didn’t see, but that’s fantastic! May I ask what you’re writing?

      Looking back at my own word count capability, I think knowing what you want to write when you sit down to write is the best thing I can suggest. It really makes the words flow faster if you know the direction of the scene. If you’re on Twitter (are you?) there is also NaNoWordSprints – I think that’s what they’re called, they offer prompts really frequently.

      It’s fun to say on Twitter you’re going to do this challenge, like how you have to incorporate a blue penguin with a pineapple, into the scene – at the end, it also asks you the word count for the session. I always like to comment on mine just for accountability’s sake, I’m competitive so watching someone else report their count makes me want to do more.

      Like

      1. I’m writing a science-fiction/dystopian story based off an idea I’ve been churning over for a few months. I’ve finally gotten the basic storyline worked out (I think).

        That makes sense; I’ve been trying to use writing prompts, but sometimes finding a prompt that inspires me takes much longer than I would like it to. x) I am not on Twitter, but that sounds extremely helpful.

        Just yesterday I wrote 1000 words in an hour, so I’m moving up! 😀

        Like

      2. Ooh, sounds fantastic! I envy you the cleverness to do science-fiction, I’ve never really had the brain for it. We should be NaNoWriMo buddies.

        I recommend the Twitter account, they run prompts pretty much every hour. Sometimes they’ll say to write for 5 mins, 10, 15, 20… 30. They give you prompts of all kinds, and in the event that the humans shut up shop for the night, you can always shout out on Twitter and ask if anyone wants to do a sprint. (Spoiler alert, I do. If I am around I always like to do sprints and give random prompts)

        Congratulations! Sending you virtual cookies of your choice.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

