Over Coffee (4)

If we were having coffee I’d be debating with myself if I wanted coffee at all. I’d be standing in line, glancing between the packets of herbal tea stacked on the counter and the list of caffeinated beverages on the board.

No, I want herbal tea. It’s been a long week and it’s late in the day; I need to be able to get to sleep. I bolted awake at 6:01 this morning all in a panic over missing my alarm and running late for work, then subsided back into my bed when my phone’s display informed me it was Saturday.

I’d tell you that I didn’t get the good news I was hoping for, but it’s not the end of the world because I made a scary leap twice in the week and maybe that will give me the results. Do you know what I’m talking about yet? Did you guess? If you didn’t, that’s okay. I’ll tell you in time.

You’re running late today. I’ve got Dostoyevsky in my bag and ruffle the pages as I wait, tempted to start the book over. It’s been a while since I began reading it but I can’t settle to it today. I don’t have my phone on me though; I left it at home when the battery ran out.

I’d tell you about the blog event that I’ve got starting next week and criticise the cake as you look around, hoping the cafe’s proprietoress doesn’t appear, and the cookies I baked that maybe could’ve turned out better. I’d tell you about the long week it’s been at work and how I’m hoping they’ll extend my temp contract.

Did you have a good week?

1 thought on “Over Coffee (4)”

Leave a Reply

