NaPoWriMo 4 (contrast)

call me the ghost –
you, you declare, are
the living one.

(don’t make me
watch
you stalk through life)

and while i drift
you paint over me.
paint me pale, bloodless,
faded as though out of existence.

(i’m real too,
did you know?
i’m real)

shade yourself in jewels,
tones of vitality
and pretend you’re more
real.

see now,
i’m colouring myself
back in;
leaching away the colours
you stole.

(leaching them back into my
bones)

siphoning day-by-day
until we
match.

tell me now,
who is real?
who is the ghost?

5 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo 4 (contrast)

Leave a Reply

