The Plot Thickens

This is the mystery I wrote for NaNoWriMo – I’ve been working on enhancing the plot and giving it a bit more direction before I dig back into writing the thing further. (And, you know, laying the foundation work for a sequel – or several)

So. My main character is more solid, I know her backstory a bit more now. Same for the antagonist, now I think on it. At least now I know what’s really driving her a bit; I’m still having a bit of a toss-up on names, because I like clever sneaky little details, but… yeah. Characters are coming along nicely. The overall setting is a bit trickier, basically I think I’m creating an entire town from thin air. Or something to that effect, I don’t know.

There was also a weird plot point I’d included at some stage; I’ve ironed that out. It was the kind of detail where, if you read it, you’d then move on to the next scene and wonder the point of it. Personally, I can’t stand loose ends.

I actually feel like I established a lot of it a while ago, in the actual writing-draft scene. There’s certainly more to establish, I think the word count could easily be doubled before I take to the red pen again. From this point, I’m starting to think I could be able to start the rewrite at some point next month.

Draft 2, coming up.

Leave a Reply

