The Madness of Drafting

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m a draft-collector. 

I told you guys I shelved my NaNoWriMo for a while, but in the meantime there’s drafts piling up in my dashboard and words rapidly being thumbed into my ‘memo pad’ on my phone. It’s becoming an ever-increasing list of poems and ideas and drafts.

For some reason, I’m inspired – moreso than ever. It’s just putting pen to paper, or fingers to keyboard, that’s the problem. I no longer have to sift through my brain for ideas, nor struggle to come up with something. It’s not like I’m necessarily forcing myself to write, but I am trying hard to do so. Too hard, perhaps?

I’m very much reluctant to shove aside writing and blogging now, after I’ve worked so hard on building a daily-writing habit.

All the awesome drafts I’m collecting are sitting around gathering dust. My phone is crammed with them; I have special little files with ideas and fleshed-out skeleton stories.

This isn’t to say I’m having difficulty writing entirely. I still go with a few different prompts and can easily pull together a poem or flash fiction; it’s my own original writing, the non-prompted stuff, that’s throwing road-blocks in my path.

How do you carry on writing daily, pushing through writer’s block?

Leave a Reply

