Flotsam and Jetsam

Today, I began a poem. I stopped, and then restarted. I pulled together a stanza, which I liked, and then stopped it. 

Tried again. Three stanzas, and I’ve decided I can’t figure out where to bring it to next. Ironic, as it’s answering the prompt decision. I decided to go for a different poem, and pulled a title from the sky. The title looked at me from the screen, blinking cursor. I wonder why they’re called cursors – is it because you want to (or do) curse looking at them blink when you have no inspiration?

Lack of inspiration isn’t the problem. It’s time. My brain throws so many fun exciting new poem ideas (which is actually a welcome change) that I never quite manage to get to them all, between working and commuting… I hear you’re supposed to do this ‘sleep’ thing too, apparently it’s good for you.

So yeah, I had that cool new poem idea and then my brain penblocked me. Hahaha no, it cackled in the recesses of my mind. You have to earn it. Do the full poem. No shortcuts.

I dutifully typed it into the memo section of my phone, which incidentally has a lot of similar memos. So does my iPod.

Also, I was going to give this a title in French, something about the deluge, but then I realized I don’t know enough French to correctly do the title, and I don’t know the phrase in German. That sounds strange to me: I know phrases in French and not German, when it was German I studied for a million years.

I think this just became a stream-of-consciousness.

Oh, and I’m resurrecting my Stellar and Lunar challenge.

*rambles off to do writing stuff elsewhere… er, sleep*

2 thoughts on “Flotsam and Jetsam”

  1. I really like this post. There is something at once honest throwaway and profound about it. I would like to join the Stellar and Lunar challenge, if it involves poetry. I am currently working on something on the paintings of Joseph Wright of Derby, which would fit nicely with this theme.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I do these 10-minute streams-of-consciousness when I need to declutter my mind and can’t for the life of me think of something else to write.

      I’m in fact about to post the new Stellar and Lunar challenge, and it certainly will involve poetry. I’ve never heard of the painter you mention; shall certainly look him up.

      Welcome aboard, I hope you enjoy the stay!

      Like

Leave a Reply

