The Travelling Writer

For Day 6 of Writing 101.

I am not a fussy person about where I write. I have been able to write in a noisy cafe, where there are a couple dozen other people all talking and with the cafe noises – you know, cutlery and coffee machines and what-have-you.

wish I was the person who could say I require, like, a penguin butler and also a room that is temperature controlled, plus a bag of mixed candy and a bottle of Sprite Zero. However, I am not.

I like to think that the different atmospheres in which I can write serve as a sort of stimulus. I’m one of those people who is really in-tune to my surroundings, which is great if I pick up on a new idea but terrible if I find something new that annoys me.

My writing habits… well, they go something like this: Come home from work. Ditch bags and sort out leftover food. Have dinner. Disappear to computer to write. Batter the hell out of keyboard.

That’s about it, really.

I generally write between 7 – 11pm, because they are optimal writing hours. Or, they’re really my only writing hours, so you bet I’m going to make it count. If I’m not doing NaNoWriMo, I might write fanfiction or a blog post.

Writing supplies… basically anything that you can use to show words. I have literally grabbed a tissue box in moments of inspiration and scrawled ideas across that. I will Sharpie words onto a tissue box before I go forgetting what idea is in my head.

And as for the physical space in which to write… I suppose I need openness. It can’t be a tiny room with a desk and chair, there has to be space to move around as I need. I can write pretty much anywhere I please, as I said – cafe, on the bus, in a moving car, at home. I’ve not tried writing at work, on lunch breaks, but I bet I could.

Okay. The other part of today’s assignment tells us to create a “Contact Me” form, where you can give me ideas for future posts. I don’t have time for that right now, (need sleep) so I’m just going to leave you with a Twitter link. Feel free to Tweet me ideas while I get it sorted to do a form.

One thought on “The Travelling Writer

Leave a Reply

