In The Works

So, you guys. I agonized for a while about what to write because I didn’t have an idea, and then I kept getting poem-ideas. The horror, right? I noted them all down like a good organized writer-bee.

I ran through prompts and idea listings and nothing appealed.

Then the calendar caught my eye. No, I tell a lie: it was the date on my computer. Technically not a calendar, but I shan’t quibble further.

I figured now’s as good a time as any for another update on how it’s all going – you know my mission to write all the things.

We’re eight days out from the start of NaNoWriMo and I spent about five minutes panicking that I have no idea what in the frilly hell I’m going to write. (It didn’t sound quite like that in the privacy of my mind, I have edited it for those of you who dislike profanity. I myself have a love-hate relationship with it)

I’ve decided now, which is good. Now for a quick bit of research…

I won’t tell you everything just yet, because I don’t want to spoil the fun in case something falls through, but I’ve got a good idea of how the month will shape up. If it does, it’ll be pretty awesome.

Oh – and I realize this is blog becoming a bit more centered on Daily Prompts and miscellanea. That’s just part of My Nefarious Plan #2936, which is to learn to write according to a strict prompt. Some of the other ones I’m doing, they’re like tiny prompts and flexible. This way, there’s something to blog (not to mention the routine and an unbroken line of posts) and then I slope off and write my own creative stuff. I’m maybe two-thirds of the way through a new poem, not at all prompted/suggested/otherwise.

There’s only so many times you can invoke the writing spirits, you know?

I think the dry spell is getting some rain, and you guys will get to see more of that – this is the stockpiling I may have talked about once.

Expect a full November-update this time next week, if I’m not reviewing a book.

Leave a Reply

