Crafty Monday

I promise, the crafty doesn’t mean I’m up to nefarious deeds. It just means I’m making headway on my crochet.

On Saturday, I purchased a crochet kit. This kit includes a “sewing needle”, so dull you could not injure yourself on it; a poorly-done instructions list and a ball of lovely silver-shimmery purple wool. Oh, and a crochet hook approximately thicker and wider than my middle finger. Inexplicably, the hook is green.

I worked out well enough how to make the pretzel, bringing to mind the time I procured a big soft pretzel in town, and even wrangled a knot in place. In case you don’t crochet, the pretzel is how you make the loopy thing to hold the yarn on the hook and cast on.

My mum showed me casting on. Easy.

Now, the instructions. On one side, several green (to match the hook?) diagrams with mysterious names. They are cryptic. The other side is a bit more logical – it’s words – but if you, like me, are new to crochet they will not make a lick of sense.

Enter YouTube. Eventually, the night wore on and I grew impatient, weary. I wanted to watch a movie, so I bundled everything back up and left it.

Tonight, I came home from work and settled in. More YouTube, newer teachers. I learned the art of making a loop, and even how to work the stitches. Several times I have unravelled things as it became too lumpy, and the half-treble has had me flummoxed for the better part of a night. Never fear. I am learning. 

I think I once told someone that when I wanted to learn something, it would be learned. I would learn the hell out of that topic. That topic and I would be friends.

Oh yes.

I’m progressing, even though my hook has a single stitch on it, even as I keep having to trim the wool because it’s got all snarled up. I’ve learned what the chain is and how you make it, I’ve learned kind of how you build up the work, and I have an idea of how you magically create three stitches out of one.

Victory will be mine.

Leave a Reply

