In the Stream

This is the first night in a while I’ve not set out to write anything in particular – thanks for nothing, Mr Computer who threw five tantrums and had to be restarted.

I figured in the end I’d do a ten-minutes thing and if you guys happen to read it, well that’s cool.

There was a kind of meta incident at work the other day. You might know I work in a contact centre, and if you have ever rung one for support on your technology/account/whatever other thing, you have possibly been on hold with it. Maybe they play some really ghastly song, maybe you get silence… Anyway, I got put on hold a couple of times doing outbound calls. Found it quite amusing.

I have picked up a crochet hook. I’ve always wanted to learn.

Thus far, I have learned how to successfully cast on stitches.

The rest, however, is a mystery. How do you do it? I have seen one diagram which says you hook the stitch and pull wool through. A YouTuber says you loop the hook through and, I don’t know, weave it. Or something. I am getting the distinct impression that you also have to dance barefoot for eighteen minutes under the full moon in the dead of winter.

As I say, a mystery. It’s all Greek to me.

Apparently it was Shakespeare who coined that phrase, but also didn’t he live in a time where people learned Greek so they could better study Greek work? I think I’m making things up now.

I’m also convinced that time is now an illusion, or some kind of magical perception-thing that is going on in the world. Who decides how time is broken up anyway? Why do we maintain it? I get the whole thing about leap years and that extra day comes about because we don’t have a full twenty-four hours in a day, allegedly, but who makes this decision? Why?

I call shenanigans.

Argh, this computer is being so demanding. It’s a bit like having a puppy wanting cuddles but far less cute. Far more mechanical.

On the bright side of things I did upload a few new things to my Etsy store this week, I made my way through another week of being helpful, and only got caught in one torrential downpour to a slight degree.

If you, dear reader, know any blogger who can make sense of the whole crochet thing, please drop a link in the comments.

Leave a Reply

