Poetry 101 Rehab: Smoke

now you see me
now you don’t.

i am here, everywhere,
getting in your eyes.
inhale, breathe
me in.
i’m in your lungs now –
takes a while to
cleanse.

(i am clinging,
sneaking away when you
least expect it)

try to catch me,
pin me under a
microscope.
examine me and make
the changes you perceive
necessary.

watch me evaporate
fine mist then
gone
from you again.
watch me hide in
plain sight
returning at your
(my)
whim.

(watch me slip
through your fingers)

see me appear to the world
retreating
toying with everyone.

chase me, follow me
try to triumph.

catch me if you can.

7 thoughts on “Poetry 101 Rehab: Smoke”

  1. The parts in brackets are working great for your poem. I like how you put your message together with so much emotion.
    There’s a determined sound to your words too I think.

    Stay the ppoet and person you are 😉

    Like

    1. Thank you! I always like weaving it together with bits and pieces. Playing with format is so much fun.

      Yes – I do believe I was determined, which is not unusual 🙂

      *quiet embarrassed happy dance* OK I will. Thank you for the kind words!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

