Stellar and Lunar: Roundup 11

Hey everyone!

So I was going to keep this brief, but I came up with the prompts based on my workday and therefore I would like to tell you a story first. Okay?

Okay.

The day was a bit slow; make that really slow. When you think ‘call centre’ you think busy, you think phones ringing. (Well, I do anyway. Maybe you don’t) For some reason, it wasn’t like that. We started the day with a decent amount, but then the calls slowed. And they slowed. I came back from lunch and could tell precisely how many new calls had been through. After that, I calculated how many calls there had been to the hour. Then, I calculated how many that made per minute.

In case you didn’t know this, I am bad at maths.

I had the time to come up with an entire premise for two novels based on the thing I wrote in November, plus at least one short story. I meditated quietly on (in no particular order) psychology, law, money and value. At one point I did get a call and lost my train of thought, but that was no great concern. I likened the waiting process to something along these lines: you have a giant tin of golden syrup, and you want to funnel it into a bottle. The only way to do so is by puncturing the lid with one small gap.

Do you know how slow golden syrup moves?

chelsea_golden1
This is heavy. If you drop it, expect either bruises, breakage or dents. Photo credit http://bestawards.co.nz/entries/graphic/chelsea-golden-syrup-tin/

Very slowly, in case you wondered.

(I’d put in a Waiting For Godot meme here, but I can’t find any I like)

Hm, this is wordy now. I’ll wrap it up.

This week on Stellar and Lunar, Jessica of masterselftherapy.com brought us a few playful kitty doodlesThey’re cute, they’re friendly and they make me want to find a cat for cuddles.

Your new challenge (July 30) is Velocity OR Value. For bonus cookies, you could combine both.

5 thoughts on “Stellar and Lunar: Roundup 11”

Leave a Reply

