Blogging 201: The Audit

So we’re on Day 2 of Blogging 201 – at least I am. I am bound to be perpetually one day behind.

Today, I’m looking at how I’ve begun to build the brand of my blog in the last year. These two things are particular to the last twelve months: I established a Twitter page and a Facebook page. I’ll readily admit that I use Twitter exponentially more: when I first set up the page I did some linky magic so that every blog post I published was automatically linked up on there. Facebook was a bit more difficult, because I keep forgetting the password, and it didn’t like the linky magic.

More recently, I’ve changed my blog’s tagline. For about one thousand years, it read “ink pours from my mind”, or something similar. I’ve since changed it to “just another truth-teller”, which is looking at how I sometimes bury truth in fiction, or start up a flash-fiction from a real-life thing. I also like the secrecy of it: I like the fact that beyond myself, people don’t really know what truths there are in my writing. Adding fiction tags just confuses it more, I think.

If I were to describe myself now, which actually I am, I would say this: A fiction writer with a taste for truth-telling and confusion. Confusing my readers, that is, not myself – and the truth telling is secret, hidden. Hidden under prose and wrapped in words.

So far I’ve kept the name I gave my blog on day one, because I don’t feel I’ve outworked it yet, and I feel that my post titles still work to either reflect the nature of the blog or the post content. When I title something, I sometimes leave it at one word – often because I like the simplicity, other times because I hope to entice the reader’s interest.

Here’s what I would like to ask you, dear reader: When you look at my blog, what do you think? I’d like to hear your opinion on my theme, which incidentally will be changing at the end of the month when my blog has its birthday; the widgets I use, and my About Me page.

(And if you would like me to have a look at a specific something on your blog, just give me a shout. I’ll be here all night)

4 thoughts on “Blogging 201: The Audit

  1. I really like this part: “More recently, I’ve changed my blog’s tagline. For about one thousand years, it read “ink pours from my mind”, or something similar. I’ve since changed it to “just another truth-teller”, which is looking at how I sometimes bury truth in fiction, or start up a flash-fiction from a real-life thing. I also like the secrecy of it: I like the fact that beyond myself, people don’t really know what truths there are in my writing” What does this mean?? Very cool. A similar blog you might enjoy is Pneumythology at https://robertlambertjones3.wordpress.com/pneumythology/ He makes this statement about fantasy: “I wish to stimulate my readers and to provide them with a satisfying intellectual space which they can inhabit until something real catches up with them.” Do you have a wordpress follow button?? (other than email.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The part you quote means that I like to hide truth in my fiction, or to confuse something so the reader can’t tell which it is – made easier by the ability to tag something as fiction. I’m also thinking of how I know which fictions are based in truth, but no-one else does.

      Thanks for the link! I’ll definitely have a look.

      And yes, I did have the WP follow widget, but I removed it in a fit of cleaning-up. I think I’ll reinstate it.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

