Blogging 201: Day 1

Hi all!

So this is, admittedly, my second post of the day (could in fact have been fourth, but I decided to be sensible and create A Plan) and it’s also a bit of a confession: I have done Blogging 201 before. However, I’m not trying to dredge up Ye Olde Bloge Posts. I’m redoing it to get myself on track with new goals, new plans and a new blog outlook.

(Also, I’m a day behind so you might be seeing a lot more of me on the Reader.)

*waves to you*

Day 1 of Blogging 201 is to list off three goals regarding the development of the blog. Without further ado, here are my goals.

  • First, I want to expand readership by… hm, let’s say 50%. This is the year that I’ve been plotting further than ever to self-publish. I’ve got short stories planned out – admittedly the writing thereof will be scraps and nuggets on my lunch break, at least for the next month. So while I’m doing that, I want to continue blogging and get more readers to see what I have to offer. While they’re doing that…
  • Second, I want to engage more with my readers. I see sometimes there are lurkers, or there are the shy ones who hover but don’t come in. There’s a fridge and whole kitchenette, you guys, you just have to come in. I’d also like to see my readers interact with each other a bit more.
  • Third, I would like to fine-tune my schedule. I have three or four days of the week which have a consistent topic, such as Monday Updates or Tuesday Poetry. That leaves too many days unscheduled and free to run wild, especially for an organized person like myself. So far this year I’ve made two schedules, honing the first into the second but I’ve strayed from it.

So there you have it. I don’t know how much it varies from the last time – I’m not referring to my last Blogging 201 session in order to avoid skewing things – but that’s what I want now. As I’ve said, there may be days when I double up on posts, but I will try to scatter the posts through the month so they don’t all clump together.

See you tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “Blogging 201: Day 1”

  1. I really like the engaging way that you write, it felt more intimate and therefore inviting. I must ask what is in the fridge ? (lol). Looking forward to reading more of your engaging writing.

    Like

    1. Thank you!! I’m so happy you think my writing is engaging – I sometimes worry that my readers think behind the screen is a robot prodding at the keys.

      The fridge: I’m glad you asked! Cupcakes, muffins and pancakes. The cupboards also have cookies and… whatever takes your fancy really. It’s the Room of Requirement, the kitchen version 🙂

      Thank you for the follow!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

