Mondays, Applications and Novels, Oh My!

Sorry, Wizard of Oz. It’s just been one of those days.

Mondays, I should say.

I figured I’ve been heavy-handed on the creatives, so it feels like time for a life update. I’ve been tapping out my applications, kicked into third gear by a hat-trick of rejections over the weekend. One was after I’d had three interviews for the one position/company, so that was a bit devastating – still, you pick yourself, start dusting yourself off and bam – more rejections. Also, at like 9pm on a Sunday? Talk about kicking a girl when she’s down.

I like to think of being a phoenix, although my tears don’t have healing powers.

Today, I sent out five applications. I also did a video interview, which was awkward. Imagine talking into a camera while text questions stare at you, and your postage-stamp sized face stares back at you. It’s a bit like one of those mirrors, you know the kind where you see yourself seeing yourself… Anyway, the sheer awkwardness apparently didn’t deter the agency woman who rang about an hour later and was like, here are questions for you, come in for an interview. I did another psychometric test – actually, now I get why I dreamed about being in an exam the other night. It’s because of all the forms and tests and stuff. Hoops.

(This is after the Wednesday booked interview)

So.

I have two interviews this week, one is only a part-time job but I’m also listed with the agency for temping jobs. The other interview… I think they’re pretty similar jobs, actually.

As for the novel… That would be my NaNoWriMo 2014 effort, and I finally have a clue what I’m going to do with it. I’m chopping the plot up and going to add in a new piece right in the middle. This is the novel that absolutely mutated from 21st century to, like, Gothic 19th century.

Then, I think I’ll take a sword to it and hack at it some more.

Finally, I shall sculpt.

Leave a Reply

