Word Crush Wednesday: Plato

Today, I’m feeling inspirational. I’m not quite sure why – maybe it’s the memory of the never-giving-up post I wrote recently, or maybe it’s the fact that I’m resigned to cold weather and gloves in the morning now – but it’s just the mood I seem to be in.

I’ve applied to another university library job, and I’m hopeful about it because I am clever and awesome.

I came across this quote after about two minutes of searching, an encroaching headache eliminating the desire to scroll through various sites. This one kind of jumped off the page – it’s brief, it’s fitting my current state of non-headachey) mood and it’s Plato. What more could you ask for? It’s a bit of a basic reminder, but sometimes you do need those, and after last week’s poem-writing spree, I need a reminder myself. Write more, I tell myself.

So admittedly, Plato is talking about art, at least according to the quotes site, and this is one of those quotes that could (and probably has been) reprised a dozen times over with the words rearranged, changed and polished. Still, I’m applying it to every endeavour ever, not just a painting or a novel.

The beginning is the most important part of the work.

1 thought on “Word Crush Wednesday: Plato”

Leave a Reply

