Word Crush Wednesday: Ralph Waldo Emerson

I almost went with a themed quote – a thing I do sometimes, relating the Quote O’ The Week to a current life event. You know, going for a job interview, or making no progress with a job, or maybe linking the quote to my mood.

Then I considered a really random quote, and then I found one, but a minute later remembered this one. I like this quote because it makes me think of doing what I love, not following the easy route through life. For instance, I did a degree in English. I didn’t do it for the sake of getting a job – I did it because I love English literature. I got to spend semesters in other centuries and sometimes what seemed like another language (hello, Mr Chaucer) and it was fun.

This quote, to me, is carving out my own path, sometimes doing things the hard way and having the courage to pick myself up, dust myself off and keep going.

Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.

1 thought on “Word Crush Wednesday: Ralph Waldo Emerson”

Leave a Reply

