Words Crush Wednesday: Raymond Chandler

First, the backstory: I was browsing the blogging world, looking for challenges. While I’m here, does anyone know what happened to the Weekly Writing Challenges? They just… vanished. Into thin air, or maybe there isn’t any air.

Maybe they just vanished into nothingness. Everything and nothing.

So anyway, I came across the blog events, the ones that bloggers set up. I found this event. I’m kind of a magpie about quotes – used to keep them in a notebook but then I got bored. I jumped back and forth on using the whole quote, or just the first sentence; you see, it’s only the first sentence etched into my memory. In the end, I decided on the whole thing because that makes it, to me at least, a little more interesting. I’ll make this a weekly feature, starting with Raymond Chandler and The Simple Art of Murder:

Down these mean streets a man must go, who is not himself mean, who is neither tarnished nor afraid. The detective must be a complete man and a common man and yet an unusual man. He must be, to use a rather weathered phrase, a man of honour. He talks as the man of his age talks, that is, with rude wit, a lively sense of the grotesque, a disgust for sham and a contempt for pettiness.

10 thoughts on “Words Crush Wednesday: Raymond Chandler”

  1. Last night, I was watching Agatha Christie’s Murder at the Vicarage, and that was the exact book Miss Marple was reading. The investigating detective picked up her book and read the title aloud. Miss Marple replied, “There is nothing simple abut murder, Inspector.” Now I want to read it 😀

    Like

    1. I suggest the Daily Prompt – you can use each one day-by-day or use the option to get a random prompt.

      There’s also an option to find blog events, if you go to a Daily Prompt page there’s a drop-down menu that offers blog event listings.

      Hope this helps 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

