On the Tenth Day of Christmas…

So, I went through a borderline Kafkaesque maze yesterday. Still recovering.

I started at home, as every day. I went to Employment Agency, where I was greeted and sent off to the Department of Stuff to update my birth certificate. Under an hour later, I had my 2014-issued birth certificate and was back at Employment Agency, where I was put to work doing practice tests.

A handful of practice tests later I sought out Mentor #3, who directed me to the agent place I needed to be. A short fifteen-minute walk later…

I was at the A.A., which is where you get your licence. I stood in a long line, not realizing that I had to fill out the form to bring to the counter. Oops. So I collected my form, filled it in easily (I like filling in forms) and brought it to the back of the line. Many minutes passed, though I could not tell you how many because I was not watching. More minutes passed and I began to wish for some form of entertainment: perhaps a troupe of Christmas carol singers.

And finally it was my turn. I tested my eyes and proved that I am in fact who I say I am, and was shuffled off to sit in the waiting area.

It was a computerised test. I took about twelve minutes of my allocated half hour, and got 33 of 35 right. To those of you who don’t do the New Zealand licencing system, that’s a pass.

Next step is driving lessons.

8 thoughts on “On the Tenth Day of Christmas…”

  1. Good luck! Driving lessons are an absolute pain and you’ll possibly feel like giving up at some point, but it’s all worth it when you finally have a car and the freedom and the ability to drive yourself everywhere. So worth it.

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your Learner’s License. It won’t be long before you’re appearing on Highway Patrol as one of NZ’s best new drivers πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. That does sound like a bit of a bore. πŸ˜› Oh well, I’m sure it will be worth it one you’re in your shiny new car, ready to conquer the world. (Or at least New Zealand. Baby steps, you know. πŸ˜‰ )

    Like

Leave a Reply

