The Placement

So, you guys know I’ve been doing this course that helps you get a job?

I received a call from one of the mentors, that I’ve already been found a work-experience placement. Two weeks of work. The placement is close to home: I can walk it in twenty minutes. Twenty-five if I really take my time, fifteen if it’s comfy shoes and a brisk summer-morning type of walk.

There’s the promise of a potential reference, and I’m to dress smart-casual. I take this to mean dresses and skirts, because when in doubt I like to be a bit formal. I’ve always thought that it’s better to be a bit overdressed than underdressed – those of you with jobs, what do you think?

Alright, so I’ve obtained some comfy shoes because this promises a lot of walking around and doing things actively, not desk-sitting. I’ve got several clothes combinations picked out and I’m practicing manners.

You see, these lovely mentors have wrangled me work-experience in a library.

7 thoughts on “The Placement

Leave a Reply

