Colour Schemes

I can’t begin to imagine the world dulled to one colour.

Nor can I imagine having colour restricted to one patch of the world – watching thirty minutes of a TV episode in black and white is quite enough for me. And even then, it was because the black-and-white was a hallucination: the episode began and ended in colour, but the body of it was black and white.

I just can’t fathom it. I’m used to being able to Google-image colours and what objects they might be, used to using extra words to describe the shade of something. Colour is what makes things interesting; clothes and books and all sorts of things. Imagine having a line of books on your shelf in this colourless world, just an endless row of plain white with black font. Doesn’t that sound dreary?

I have kind of a low boredom threshold to begin with; stripping the world of colour would send me into a boredom stupor, I think. With this in mind, I refuse to force only one of my objects to retain colour and bleach the rest.

9 thoughts on “Colour Schemes”

  1. […] tuckedintoacorner Colour Schemes From Balderdash To Epiphany. The Only Color Ryan’s Writing Tarnished brass of a Civil War bugle The Ambitious Drifter Surprise Splash The Undaunted Blue Madness Of My Life A RED ONE…. Kosher Adobo Lad[ies] in Red From One Crazy Life To Another It lets me know we’re alive Passion through Poetry Aqua Blue! Just Writing! Let There Be Light! Basically Beyond Basic Local Color Basically Beyond Basic Local Color Designer Sophisticate Cerulean. James Clegg All colours black… […]

    Like

  2. I do find it fascinating, though, that we’ve become so dependent on colour. It’s something that we rely on purely for its visual pleasure, and yet there’s no fathomable reason as to why. We could survive without colour, but we don’t want to. I think it’s so interesting that our brains have evolved so much from their most basic survival instincts that they simply cannot imagine a world without colour.

    Like

    1. You sound like me; that is just the sort of thing I would think 🙂

      And yes, it is fascinating. I remember studying various ancient art, and thinking how crude it was in comparison to the fine masterpieces of more recent centuries – I wonder if the need for colour came with the survival need?

      You’ve given me a new topic to explore, thank you 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately, ever since I read a quote that extolled the virtues of human boredom, because what other species can afford to sit there and bemoan that they have “nothing to do”?

        That’s a good point as well. I wonder if we devoted ourselves to frivolous beauty in order to somehow substitute for all those centuries when every waking moment was spent surviving.

        Like

      2. Ooh! What quote? And you’re quite right; humans keep developing technology to make life easier, and in doing so cut down on the things we can do ourselves. It’s quite a vicious cycle when you think about it, how we improve our tech to make things easier and keep on doing so. Eventually I expect we’ll all have little house-hold robots powered by a Siri-like being.

        Maybe! The evolution of beauty is something that also has interested me, not just in fashion but in other areas. Where did the idea of beauty come from? Could be that survival was often ugly (of course I’m just theorizing here) and so art was a way to create something beautiful – not to substitute, but to compensate. Hmm… Definitely things to think about 🙂

        Like

      3. It was actually in an article I had to read for school – I don’t remember the exact one, but I’m sure I have it buried in a drawer somewhere!

        Oh, I hope that doesn’t happen. I suppose that’s another benefit of art: it’s not something that can be created by technology (it can be helped by technology, of course – Photoshop springs to mind – but in the end it’s always about the artist). It lets us keep that little spark of humanity, if you know what I mean.

        That’s another viable theory – perhaps we create beauty because the alternative is just too stark. It gives us a comfort of sorts.

        Like

      4. Oh cool 🙂 I shall Google then.

        So do I – I just read a futuristic type of novel where an app dictates every aspect of life, and people come to rely so heavily on it that without it they become confused and bewildered. And yes, I do know what you mean 🙂

        Yes, I like that. A study in contrast: the sorrow and the beauty.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

