Fictional Offerings

Weekly update time. I’m done with the grad mayhem and Co-Author’s essays are easing off, I’m told.

We’ve been discussing fiction. In case you guys don’t know, Co-Author is a questioner. So am I, for that matter. Anyway, the general theme has been “Where does fiction come from?” and this is not just referring to the concept of creating fiction for entertainment/information/your reason here please. It’s more along the lines of why did people begin fiction at first, where did they get the idea to do so. Why do it, if it has no benefit to something like survival?

So I suppose this could be a fiction within a fiction: we’re setting up a fictional town, and looking at who in the town creates a fiction.

Also, if you answer those questions you should be prepared for more questions. I suspect given enough time either of us could build questions onto questions onto questions. An enquiry wrapped in a query hidden in an investigation buried in research.

I’m actually consulting this week with Co-Author as I write. I didn’t bring a proper draft to the table today, so I’m seeking ideas. Seems this is what “no planning” feels like, and I don’t like it.

I don’t know if I’ve said this yet, but the book is an end-of-days type of thing. End of lives and the stories people have to tell surrounding that, and we’ve looked at the similarities of religions, how there are end-of prophecies and stuff. You’d have to ask him this, he knows these things.

Breaking boundaries, that seems to be the theme overall. Apparently I’m to create a character with no planning whatsoever. I love planning things; this is very bizarre to me.

At least he has to plan one out in exchange, so that’s something.

2 thoughts on “Fictional Offerings

  1. LOL the old “Pantser” or “Plotter” saga. Some people wouldn’t be able to write a story unless they planned absolutely everything. Others couldn’t write out their plot if their life depended on it. I’m a bit of both. If you’ve created a new character with no planning HIP HIP HOORAY 😀

    Like

    1. Indeed. I’m a bit like you about this: I like to plan everything ever, but I also dislike planning out a story too strictly. Co-Author, however, has said he dislikes even knowing how a sentence will end… Bit too chaotic for me.

      I suspect that if I apply this approach to one character, many more shall follow suit 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

